Skip to content

Mel Tuck

Actor & Coach

Mel Tuck
Mel is a highly regarded pioneer of Canadian theatre, a director of international reputation and an innovator in acting training technique and philosophy. In a career spanning 55 years, he has performed in dozens of plays, founded 9 theatre companies and has directed over 300 shows across Canada. 
He headed the drama department at Ryerson University for 13 years and originated and ran the Gastown Actors Studio conservatory for 12 years. Mel taught at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity for 3 years and has also been periodically teaching at VanArts for the past 5 years. He has taught advanced scene study at his Austin-Tuck Studios for the last 18 years. Mel holds a BFA from the University of Alberta.
He has been recognized in 2019 with the John Juliani Award for Excellence / Lifetime Achievement Award by UBCP/ACTRA. He has been nominated for two ACTRA Awards, a Canadian Film Award, and has won two film festival awards.
Mel was most recently seen in the TV series Family Law with Victor Garber as Judge Pennyfeather, as well as TV movie A Christmas for the Ages.

Working students

Mel has taught, coached and mentored thousands of Canadian actors across the country spanning three generations. He has been gratified to watch his students gain exposure and win awards in the North American film industry and London’s West End, including Eric McCormackBarry PepperMolly ParkerJared KeesoDavid James ElliottNia VardalosJohn Pyper-FergusonHiro KanagawaSteve BacicScott McNeilIan TraceyMartin CumminsTeryl RotheryMatt HillPaul McGillionDaniel BaconJohn CassiniBrent StaitBenjamin RatnerRoger CrossWilliam MacDonaldJohn NovakCatherine Lough HaggquistRoman PodhoraPeter BryantLynda BoydRachel HaywardNicholas LeaDavid CubittJill TeedJohannah NewmarchMark Brandon,Ken TremblettLynne GriffinJed ReesJeff WincottJohn DestryBart AndersonEli GabayWilliam S. TaylorLarissa LaskinTom PickettNoah BeggsTroy RuptashGary HetheringtonBronwen SmithJohn ProwseNancy SivakDanny WattleyBill MarchantRobert WisdenMaurice GodinChristianne HirtTannis BurnettChad WillettLinda KoRick TaeJennifer ClementAkiko MorisonKaren Elizabeth AustinKelsey GillisSuzy JoachimMorgan BraytonScott HeindlDebbie PodowskiKaaren de ZilvaMercedes de la ZerdaMax Lloyd-JonesAndrew HerrRob RacoAnna MaicheA.J. BuckleyKeenan Tracey, as well as award-winning casting directors Candice Elzinga and Jon Comerford.